Becoming a CHIA involves sitting and passing the CHIA exam

  • Covering 6 competency areas and 52 competencies
  • 104 multiple choice questions – 2 questions on each competency at various levels of difficulty
  • Register at a time that suits you
  • Study at your own pace
  • Exam is completed online, from your personal computer at the time that suits you
  • Exam duration – 2.5 hours max
  • Exam questions are selected at random (i.e. students re-sitting the exam will not be given the same questions as the first time they sat the exam)
  • Managed by an Examination Committee comprising senior Australasian health informaticians